About the Inquiry

The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Refugees and the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Migration have launched a joint inquiry into the use of detention in the immigration system. The inquiry will examine the use of detention in the UK immigration and asylum systems, with a particular focus on the conditions within detention centres, the impact on individual detainees and their families, the wider financial and social consequences, and the future role of detention within the immigration system.

The inquiry, which was launched on 7 July 2014, is led by a cross-party committee of MPs and peers, and chaired by Sarah Teather MP. The panel members are:

  • Sarah Teather MP
  • Paul Blomfield MP
  • David Burrowes MP
  • Richard Fuller MP
  • Julian Huppert MP
  • Jon Cruddas MP
  • Caroline Spelman MP
  • Lord Lloyd of Berwick
  • Lord Ramsbotham
  • Baroness Lister
  • Baroness Hamwee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s